Masaki Kinoshita

« Back to list


Masaki Kinoshita

Masaki Kinoshita 木下昌輝

Masaki Kinoshita (1974–) was born in Nara Prefecture and graduated from the Faculty of Architecture at Kindai University. He worked at a major homebuilder for a time before striking out on his own as a freelance writer based in the Kyoto–Osaka region. After studying at the Osaka Bungaku Gakkō writers school, which counts many prominent authors among its alumni, he made his literary debut by winning the All Yomimono Prize for New Writers in 2012 with his mid-length manuscript Ukita no suteyome (The Sacrificial Bride). His first collection of stories under the same title appeared in 2014 and was shortlisted for the Naoki Prize. Other titles include the fictitious biography Tenka-ichi no karukuchi otoko (The World’s Greatest Comedian), the story collection Sengoku nijūyoji: Saigo no toki (Sengoku Era 24-Hours: Last Days), and the novel Teki no na wa, Miyamoto Musashi (The Opponent, Miyamoto Musashi). While grounding his stories firmly in the historical record, he has gained notice among fans of historical and period fiction for developing unique perspectives and premises not necessarily bound by historical facts.

Books by Masaki Kinoshita
  • Book

    The Opponent, Miyamoto Musashi

    Miyamoto Musashi (d. 1645) was one of the most storied swordsmen of the Edo period (1603–1867); his Gorin no sho (The Book of Five Rings), a discussion of martial arts and military strategy, has even been translated into English. Yet beginning with the …