Shichiri Nakayama

« Back to list


Shichiri Nakayama

Shichiri Nakayama 中山七里

Shichiri Nakayama (1961–) was born in Gifu Prefecture. He takes his pen name from the Nakayama Shichiri Canyon tourist destination in his native Gifu. Setting his sights on becoming an author at a young age, he immersed himself especially in the works of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Maurice Leblanc. He began writing his own fiction in high school, and made his first submission to a new-writer contest while in college—only to be eliminated in the second round. Once he became a working adult, he set aside his writing for many years, but he resumed his efforts in his mid-forties, and ultimately made his literary debut by winning the 2009 Konomys Award for the novel Sayonara Dobyusshī (Goodbye Debussy). A prolific writer of genre fiction, he often has works in progress in multiple subgenres at the same time—from mysteries with a musical theme, to police procedurals, to courtroom dramas, and more. Among his many other novels are Shokuzai no sonata (Sonata of Atonement), Kirisaki Jakku no kokuhaku (The Confession of Jack the Ripper), and Hipokuratesu no chikai (The Hippocratic Oath).

Books by Shichiri Nakayama
  • Book

    The Confession of the Sirens

    The “Afternoon Japan” news show on Teito TV in Tokyo has received a warning from the Broadcasting Ethics & Program Improvement Organization (BPO) for fabrications and other unjournalistic practices in their reportage, and the program is under thre …