Takehide Harada

« Back to list


Takehide Harada

Takehide Harada はらだたけひで

Takehide Harada (1954–)  was born in Tokyo and works as a picture-book author. He won the Sankei Children's Book Award in 1989 for Pashuraru sensei (Mister Pacheral), and in 1992 he received the UNICEF Ezra Jack Keats International Award for Excellence in Children's Book Illustration for Furanchesuko (St. Francis). Among his other works are Okina ki no ie: Watashi no Niko Pirosumani (The Big Wooden House: My Niko Pirosmani), Pashuraru sensei no haru (Mister Pacheral's Spring), Pashuraru sensei no natsu (Mister Pacheral's Summer), and Pashuraru sensei no aki (Mister Pacheral's Autumn). Works he has illustrated include Gokuraku chocho (Butterfly of Paradise; story by Haruo Yamashita), Fushigiya-san (Miss Mysterious; stories by Tamae Hayashibara), and Mori no oku no chiisana monogatari (Little Tales from Deep in the Woods; stories by Tamae Hayashibara).

Books by Takehide Harada
  • Book

    Stores in the Woods

    Animals of the forest operate unusual shops in this collection of 12 stories that give young readers a sense of the passing seasons as well as of the warm and friendly lives the animals lead. The first story is Kitsutsuki no shobai (The Woodpecker's New …